Being an Introvert

8

People have been categorized as either an “introvert” or “extrovert” for a very, very long time, and while there are several other factors that contribute to someones personality, this distinction is a good place to start. For a long time, I had always distinguished myself as an extrovert, and maybe for a long time, I was, but as time went on I’ve discovered that I’m really quite the opposite. I guess I had always pictured introverts as people who didn’t have any friends and sat at home all day. This is seriously not the case. That’s just the typical “stereotype” of an introvert. I’ve discovered that being an introvert is perfectly normal, and it certainly does not mean that you hate people. It’s just that some things are uncomfortable or tiring for me that aren’t necessarily that way for other people. Allow me to simplify what I mean. Here is a list of what being an introvert means to me:

  1. I don’t have a ton of friends, but the ones I have are incredibly close and important to me
  2. It’s easiest to express myself through non-verbal communication
  3. Talking on the phone is somehow easier than talking face to face
  4. If I don’t know you, and you don’t start a conversation with me, we won’t be talking
  5. When I have to make an announcement over the intercom at work, I die a little inside
  6. I’d almost always take a “chill” night with a movie and a few friends over a party any day
  7. When I’m quiet, it doesn’t always mean I’m upset or something is bothering me, sometimes I’m just quiet
  8. My good friends probably think I’m super loud and crazy because they know me well enough
  9. I’m never bothered being by myself. Instead, I usually find it peaceful.
  10. I am the way I am, and I don’t feel pressured to act a different way for anybody

All of this being said, I know I’m not on the extreme spectrum of introverts. I certainly have qualities of an extrovert as well, I just fall mostly on the introverted side of things. My dad is definitely an introvert, and my mom is definitely an extrovert, so I’ve inherited a little bit of both. I’m happy accepting myself this way, and I wouldn’t change a thing.

I am who I am.

xo,

Megan LouAnn

 

Leave a Reply

