Uncategorized

8 Reasons Why Elderly People are the Best People

I’ve been working as a receptionist at a nursing home for a year now, and it has completely opened up my eyes and my view of the elderly. There seems to have always been a stigma about elderly people being rude, nasty, smelly, etc. While this is occasionally true, more often than not, it’s not the case at all. In the past year, almost every elderly person I’ve connected with has been such a blessing to get to know and nothing but a joy to be around. Here are my top eight reasons why elderly people are the best people.

  1. They have the best manners – please and thank you are the most frequently used words by this generation
  2. They’re always complimenting you – even over the small stuff aaand the weird stuff “you have the cutest ears!” “thank you?”
  3. They tell it like it is without hesitation – having a bad hair day? they’ll make sure you know about it
  4. They have the best stories – chances are they have experienced a lot more than you
  5. They appreciate the small stuff – Sunday is the best day of the week for them because of church and the Sunday newspaper
  6. They aren’t addicted to social networks – “snapface?” “tweetbook?”
  7. They stay positive even when illnesses might bring them down – strongest people ever
  8. They love unconditionally* – husbands/wives come in to visit their spouse three times a day, every. single. day. 

I love the elderly, and I hope that I might get to work with them in whatever career path I decide to take. Even when I’m not having a good day, they can cheer me up instantly and make me realize that maybe whatever is going on isn’t so terrible. 

*More on their unconditional love… below is an excerpt I pulled from a blog post I made back in November 2013 on my old blog. 

If this doesn’t make you smile, I don’t know what will…

I recently came across an article on NBC News about America’s longest-married couple. Their 81st wedding anniversary is coming up. EIGHTY FIRST ANNIVERSARY. Unfortunately, that’s longer than some of us will live. However, John, 102, and his wife Ann, 98, have well surpassed the life expectancy for both men and women, and they have lived almost their entire lives together. So what’s their story exactly? Ann was actually set to marry a much older man whom her father had chosen, but to her father’s suprise, she took off with John, and they eloped. 81 years later, here they are, still unconditionally in love with one another. It’s amazing to think of everything this couple has witnessed and been through. In an interview with NBC, John said, “We have watched the world change together.” In response to how they’ve managed to stay together so long? Listen up men! He says, “The key is to always agree with your wife.” Wow. That’s the best relationship advice I’ve heard in a long time. I think the best part of this love story is that they both appear to have many years ahead of them.

Now tell me this isn’t the cutest couple you’ve ever seen?!

Ugh. So precious right?? I swear, I don’t care how in love I am with someone… 81 years is a LONG time. I really do wish them the best and many more anniversaries to come! 

xo,

Megan LouAnn

One thought on “8 Reasons Why Elderly People are the Best People

Leave a Reply

