5 Goals for the Upcoming Fall Semester

Well, I apologize for the complete lack of posts in the past 2-3 weeks or so. Sometimes life just gets in the way, days go by, it’s August, and I go back to school in 16 days. Call me a nerd, but I’m genuinely looking forward to going to back and getting back “in the swing of things”. This has been the best and fastest summer of my life, but a Monday through Friday routine sounds really, really refreshing. Now, I’m not looking forward to waking up at the crack of dawn again or to the homework, but I’m looking forward to class… Make sense? Probably not. Moving along…


 

mind map for setting personal life goals

As the summer is coming to a close and the school year is quickly approaching, I find it necessary that I establish a set of goals for myself this semester. Starting with…

1. Learn how to better budget my money

This summer I’ve been stuck in a rut of making money, spending money, making money, spending money. I’m getting by just fine, but I stopped seeing my bank account grow like I did during the school year; instead it’s mostly been at a stand still with tiny fluctuations here and there. The majority of money spent has simply gone to buying food while I’m out to eat with friends which is okay to do every once in a while, but I’m going to try to cut down spending my money on food this semester by packing lunches if need be and simply eating at home because lucky for me, I rarely pay for family groceries. Free food. It’s a no-brainer.

2. Take care of my body

With recent health complications, it’s crucial that I change my diet to include more whole foods. I want to steer clear of prepackaged, frozen, convenience foods and turn to the good stuff (fruit, veggies, whole grains, dairy, etc.). These type of foods will nourish my body instead of harming it. Along with making better food choices, I need to get back in a gym routine. Working out makes me feel better about myself and gives me an extra boost of energy. The “freshman 15” was all too real for me this past year, so by the end of the semester, I’d like to lose the extra pounds once and for all.

3. Get a better idea of what I really want as a career path

So after a few change ups last year, I’ve finally hammered down a concrete major – biology, but now I need to focus on what I really plan to do with it. I have quite a few ideas, but I’d like to turn an idea into a plan. By the end of this fall semester, I’d like to narrow down my choices to two different career path options so I can plan the rest of my undergraduate work to guide me in the right direction.

4. Get involved

So last year I had the intention of getting super involved in school, but adjusting to the new college atmosphere and staying atop of my school work while also working a part time job was enough for me to handle at that time. With that under my belt, I’d like to genuinely venture out a little bit more this year and make sure I’m getting the most out of my college years. Too many people at NKU simply go to class and go straight home. I don’t want to be one of those people, so I’m going to have to take some time to figure out what the best club or organization is for me.

5. Focus on myself and my faith

When I say I want to focus on myself, it may seem a little selfish, but there’s nothing wrong with doing a little soul searching. They, whoever they are, say that college is the best time to “find” yourself, and after my first year, I can say that they are absolutely right. I’ve learned more about myself in the past year than I had in the previous 5 years, and I have zero intention of stopping the self-discovery. Along with focusing on myself, I want to focus on my faith which I talked a lot about in my previous post which you can find here.

What are some of your goals for the upcoming school year? I’d love to hear about them in the comments below!

xo,

Megan LouAnn

 

 

2 thoughts on “5 Goals for the Upcoming Fall Semester

Leave a Reply

