The Power of Strong, Female Friendships

32

All my life, I’ve been fortunate enough to have a few, really great female friends. I wouldn’t consider myself to have ever been in the “popular” crowd, but I was always able to rely on some strong friendships through grade school, high school, and now into college. That being said, for the most part I really despised girls. I found them extremely intimidating because as a fellow girl, I know how mean us women can be. Women are catty. Women are dramatic. Women are emotional. Women can simply be horrible creatures. But! (There’s always a but…) Women make the strongest friendships imaginable.

The older I get, the more I realize just how powerful these female friendships can be. Why? The answer lies within the same reasons I gave for why I despised women…

Women are catty: A female friend will stick up for you no matter what. They won’t put up with any bs, and they will always, always have your back.

Women are dramatic: There’s never a dull moment with a female friend. Their stories are always hilarious, and almost all of the dramatic moments within the friendship turn out to be something you can laugh about just a few days later.

Women are emotional: This is the real ‘glue’ behind every female friendship. Women are not afraid to share how they feel, so 9/10 times your friend is going to tell you when she’s upset with you, and you can be on the road to recovery as soon as possible. Emotions are what make friendships count. Emotions are what make friendships real.

Women can simply be horrible creatures: Everyone has had a bad night. Everyone makes mistakes. Everyone can be horrible. When you’re at your worst, a female friend is going to be there for you because she’s probably been there before. She understands that as women, we have so much pressure to be perfect, and that’s just not realistic.

The bottom line is, no matter how catty, dramatic, emotional, or horrible women can be, women are so amazing. They really do make the most powerful friendships, and you can always count on your girls to get you through a tough time. I’m so blessed to have several super powerful friendships in my life, and I wouldn’t give them up for anything.

xo,

Megan LouAnn

Leave a Reply

