college

3 Secrets for a Successful Semester

16

Tonight I was talking with one of my coworkers about when I go back to school (January 12th), and I told her that I kind of wish I went back Monday. And her jaw dropped. Understandably? See, with Christmas and New Year’s gone, I’m ready to get back into a normal day-to-day routine. When I don’t have a busy schedule like I do 99% of the year, I tend to be very lazy and unproductive, and it’s not a good feeling! And this might be earth shattering to some of you, but despite my daily complaints and a few classes that give me a hard time, I really enjoy school. (whaaaaaaat?!) I’ve said this pretty much my whole life, and it still holds true today – which is a good thing because Lord knows I’ll be in school for quite some time. I’ve even found myself consistently checking Blackboard to see if my new professors have posted our class syllabus or anything else for that matter. Ugh, I know what you’re thinking….  ‘NERD ALERT’. And well, hey, maybe I am a bit of nerd, but so far it’s been paying off, so I’d like to make a post about some helpful hints to have a great spring semester!

1. Have a positive attitude

Consciously tell yourself (and keep telling yourself) that you’re excited to learn about whatever it is you’re learning about especially with those yucky gen-eds. Having a positive attitude about a class will take you a long way. Luckily for me, I’m finished with gen-eds, so for the most part I’m learning about stuff that I’m genuinely interested in, so I don’t have to make much of an effort to ‘care’. However, it’s still a good idea to go into the classroom feeling ready to learn.

2. Get a good night’s sleep

So since college started, I’ve become the queen of naps, and quite frankly naps (although sometimes super necessary) really annoy me because I like to make the most out of my day-time, and naps just get in the way. One of the most important things you can do to have a successful semester is get a good night’s sleep. It will be a lot easier if you get into a good routine because your body will get used to falling asleep and waking up at specific times. Sure, every once in a while you’ll have to pull an all-nighter, but a good night’s sleep will leave you feeling refreshed and energized for those early morning classes. I learned the hard way that when you’re not very awake for say… an 8am chemistry lecture… you won’t do as well as you possibly could.

3. Give yourself a break

I’ve mentioned this before in my post about surviving hell weeks in college and it should hold true to your entire semester in general. School should always be a priority in your life (especially over things such as partying), but college (or high school) is a time to have fun as well along with the schoolwork. Going out on the weekends isn’t going to kill your grade if you do it in moderation and if know that if you’ve got a huge paper due on Monday that you haven’t started, partying all weekend isn’t the best idea. It’s all about finding that proper balance, but I believe having a little fun will actually help you succeed in the long run.

I hope these three tips will help you with the upcoming semester, and I wish you all the best of luck! Remember that (particularly in college) education is an investment that’s worth it, so make sure you’re putting in your absolute best effort. We are truly blessed to be given such big opportunities when it comes to our education. If you’ve got any other tips or tricks for a successful semester, make sure to put them in the comments down below!

xo,

Megan LouAnn

4 thoughts on “3 Secrets for a Successful Semester

  1. I thought it was interesting to find out I’m not the only one who is ready to go back to school because I havent been doing anything productive. Nice post 🙂

Leave a Reply

