recipes

Recipe 1 – Chia Seed Jam

Hello everyone! Sorry it’s been quite some time since I last posted, and I know I say this a lot, but I’m really going to try to post more often. I’ve got quite a few posts in draft form that are ready to go but need some finishing touches, so be on the lookout for those! Today, I made homemade blackberry chia seed jam using this recipe given to me by my friend Taylor. I’m trying to ease myself into a healthier lifestyle because I’ve had some health concerns lately, and I honestly just need to take my health seriously. I don’t eat horribly, but I wouldn’t say it’s good. Anyways, I have a pretty big sweet tooth in the morning, so this recipe was recommened to me. I plan to use it on top of gluten free pancakes when I’m have those sweet cravings. This recipe is really easy (only 3 ingredients!!!!), and it’s so much better for you than jam you would buy from the store (preservatives – gross!). I’m not the greatest cook in the world (at all), and i could do it, so you can too!

Start with about 1lb any fruit of your choice (I chose blackberries), and clean and remove the stems/seeds as needed.

22

Take medium saucepan and combine your fruit with 1/4 cup of a sweetener of your choice (I chose honey), and place the saucepan over medium heat.

24

Stirring occasionally, allow the fruit to start to liquify (it took about 10 minutes). Let your fruit and honey mixture boil for about 5 minutes. You may need to use a fork or masher to help break the fruit down.

25

At this time, taste your jam to see if you need to add any more sweetener, and then stir in 2 tablespoons of chia seeds. Why chia seeds? More on that later.

23

Allow to cook for an additional minute and then set aside to cool and thicken for about 10 minutes. If it is not thick enough after 10 minutes, you can add another tablespoon of chia seeds and cool an additional 10 minutes. After that, you’re done! You can store it in the refrigerator for about 2 weeks and use it on anything you’d like (pancakes, english muffins, etc.).

26

So why chia seeds? First off they are extremely high in fiber, omega-3, and protein which keeps you fuller longer. They also are really great at absorbing liquids, so they do a really good job of thickening the jam. You can’t taste them at all because most fruit has seeds anyways, so it’s no different than regular fruit jam! This is seriously sooooo easy to make and really yummy!

Try it out with your favorite fruit, and let me know what you think in the comments down below! If you’d like to see more posts of me trying out some new recipes, let me know by liking this post! I hope everyone has a wonderful week filled with lots of love and goodness! Be on the lookout for a post hopefully by the end of this week! Until next time…

xo,

Megan LouAnn

4 thoughts on “Recipe 1 – Chia Seed Jam

Leave a Reply

