faith

Rain

Free writing allows the mind to flow freely with no limitations and no expectations, but this is not how I typically write. I’m a planner; a perfectionist. I’m already resisting the overwhelming temptation to hit the backspace button. I will type one thing and immediately think of something better – a better descriptive adjective, a better way to word something. But in free writing there is no backspace, no deletions, no re-dos. I’m a little uneasy with this. I like to have control. But as I sit here feeling frustrated about this specific way of writing, I realize that in a sense, free writing is the most raw, unapologetic, and emotionally charged way to write. In life, we don’t get to hit the backspace button no matter how many times we wish we could. Our own personal stories are freely written, with the ability to take a multitude of different paths and the ability to stray from those paths when adverse circumstances arise. One can plan and plan all they want in life, but in reality, life will ultimately take it’s own path according to the will of God and no one else. When life gets to be too much, too busy, too stressful, too anything, trying to control the situation just makes this worse, no? This is where the classic phrase, “Let go, and let God”, comes in to play. God has his own plan for your life, and sometimes when it seems most difficult is when it is essential that we surrender our own dreams, plans, and ideas to God because what we might think is best could lead us down a path that strays from God. When we keep our hearts turned to God, He will lead us down the path that will take us to our full potential and give us eternal happiness. We are going to make mistakes in life, and just as in free writing, there are no do-overs. Luckily, there is no need to have do-overs because God forgives. He sent Jesus, His only Son, down to earth to die on the cross, so that our sins can be washed away. This is the message of Easter which we celebrated yesterday, and ironically, today I am typing this from the comfort of my own porch, listening to rain and rolls of thunder. Symbolic?

*This post was freely written for the first day of Writing 101 on WordPress. The idea was to free write for about 20 minutes, and the twist? To publish. So here it is, definitely different from my usual posts, but I hope you enjoyed reading it all the same. Let me know what you think in the comments down below. Have a blessed Easter, and I’ll see you all tomorrow!

xo,
Megan LouAnn

2 thoughts on “Rain

  1. This brought tears to my eyes! What a joy to see your growth as you mature in your faith. Your blog entry perfectly illustrates Proverbs 3:5-6. “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will direct your steps.”

    1. I must say that Jesus Calling has helped me tremendously in this journey, and for that, I can’t thank you enough! Thank you for always being a positive roll model in my life!

Leave a Reply

