On My Mind

It’s quite a rainy evening here in Kentucky, and while I sit at work with nothing to do (fairly common in the summertime), my mind is going a million miles per hour. It probably has a lot to do with a new medication I’m on for my recently diagnosed spondyloarthritis – it increases general anxiety levels. Thus, my mind won’t stop buzzing, so I land here, WordPress, to regurgitate some of the things going on up there, my mind. Warning: this post is bound to be pretty choppy. Enjoy. ๐Ÿ™‚


1. First and foremost, I’m getting pretty stoked at the realization that on Sunday morning, I will be standing in the beautiful country of Spain which is very, very far away from home. The thought both excites me and of course makes me a little anxious, but more than anything, I’m ready to take on this journey! Well, not completely ready since I still have to do all of my laundry, pack, do some last minute things at the bank, call my phone company, etc. etc. etc. *follow my blog, Summer in Segovia, to stay up to date on all of my travels while there, seriously – do it*

2. One of my best friends has a really big decision to make this summer, and it’s got me thinking about the trade off between risk and reward. The bigger the risk, the bigger the potential reward, but what is the cut off? When is the risk too big? Will there be regrets if you take the safer route? Will there be ‘what ifs’? We are at an age where we are bound to face big life decisions in the near/ not so distant future, and I think a lot of it can be simplified in to the balance between risk and reward. Once you have mapped out the two, it’s up to you to decide how much you’re willing to risk to get the highest potential pay out. It’s like the classical biological contrast between time spent and energy acquired. SCIENCE!!!

3. I’ve discovered that one of my absolute favorite things to do is read a really good book and then watch the movie that is based off of it and compare the two. No doubt, the book always wins, and reading the book ahead of time makes the movie so much better than it would be without because I know all of the background and character development. Recently, I finished the book The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks (amazing, btw), and then the day I finished it, I went to see the movie. The movie definitely had some pretty major differences, but they are trying to squeeze an incredibly complicated story into just two short hours, so I still enjoyed the movie nonetheless. Now, I’m reading Paper Towns by John Green, and the movie doesn’t come out until the end of July *complete side note here, I just pressed the wrong button on my keyboard and literally thought I lost the entirety of this post which might have beneficial to you poor readers trying to take in all of this randomness, but hey, WordPress came in clutch and saved a draft for yo home gurl* , so I have plenty of time to get the book read. Any book suggestions for me?? I’ll love you forever.

4. I woke up yesterday morning and decided to chop all of my hair off (like 7-8 inches). Now, my hair is the shortest it’s been since I was like 4 maybe. But guess what, I LOVE IT. I just couldn’t think about it too much, and I went for it. Shout out to Elle, my amazing hairdresser for 10+ years now, for making it look better than I even expected.

34

How’s that for a gigantic selfie? But really, I’m so happy with how it turned out, and now I won’t have to spend a bazillion hours trying to wash the mop that was previously my hair.

5. Finally, have I mentioned how much I love elderly people? Yes, you say? Plenty of times, you say? Well guess what? I still do.


That is all. Talk soon.

xo,

Megan LouAnn

3 thoughts on “On My Mind

  1. Cardwords says:

    Paper Towns is great! I’m excited to see the movie, too! If you’re looking for other books like Paper Towns, I’d recommend anything else by John Green (especially Looking for Alaska) and Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. Great post! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

