travel

To Write and To Travel

40

“What do you want to do with a biology degree?”

This question is one that I hear way more than I’d admittedly like to, but that’s mostly because I’ve never really had a concrete answer to give. However, I’ve finally accepted that I probably never will have such an answer. I took a step back the other day when asked this question and instead of focusing so much on the biology degree aspect of it, I decided to alter the question into something along the lines of “What do you want to do with your life?” because, for me, that question is shockingly way easier to answer. I want to write, help people, see as much of the world as possible, meet the love of my life, and raise a family – the end. So maybe a biology degree doesn’t fit exactly into those plans, but it’s still a passion of mine and something I’m very, very good at. Being half way finished with my undergraduate career, there’s no turning back, but I have full faith that God has a plan for me. I’m done trying to make my own perfect cookie cutter plans when I know myself all too well – I will never stick to the pan, er… plan. I’m always changing, always inspired by something new, and it’s not in my DNA to be tied down into a one-shot commitment such as medical school, optometry, veterinary medicine, etc. And as they (whoever ‘they’ are) say, it’s not so much about what kind of degree you have as much as it’s about the degree itself. So from now on when faced with the dreaded question, “What do you want to do with a biology degree?”, I think I’ll smile and simply reply “Write and travel”. I’m sure I’ll receive a lot of confused looks and possibly further questions, but hey, I’ll leave it up to their imagination because at this point, their guess will be as good as mine, and that’s perfectly okay.

One thought on “To Write and To Travel

Leave a Reply

