Uncategorized

Flaws and All

Crippled things are always more beautiful. It’s the flaw that brings out beauty.

-Holly Black

Flaws. We all got ’em. Some of us more than others, but who am I to judge? We are always told that we’ve got to love ourselves if anybody else is ever going to do the same, but what does it really mean to… love yourself? I think it has a lot less to do with praising the positives and a lot more to do with accepting and truly loving all of the negatives. Because let’s face it, more often than not, our ‘negatives’ are what make us unique. I think sometimes people say they love themselves when they really only love their best self. It’s doing nothing for their self-worth. Thinking this way drives us to cover up who we really are deep down and put on a front for people, especially when we first meet them. Let’s end this madness and embrace the beauty our of whole selves!! But how? I think the answer is pretty simple. Honesty. First with yourself and then with others. Be honest with yourself and know that you may have some uglier sides to you, but they’re kind of cool because they’re youuu. Seriously the first step to loving your whole self is to lay it all out there. All of it, people. To encourage you, I’m going to share some of my own flaws with you… WARNING: cringing may occur.

  • I bloat like a bi-atch after random meals. We are talking like ‘I’m 7 months preggers’ bloatation.
  • After said bloating, the only relief I get comes from tooting. Ooooh I just went there.
  • I get more enjoyment out of reading the back of books than I do from reading an actual book.
  • The freshman 15 (or 20…) was a real thing for me.
  • And because of that, so are stretch marks…
  • I’m a straight-up hypochondriac.
  • I tend to only see the good in people & it bites me in the booty.
  • Emotions can get the best of me.
  • My nose is larger than normal (BETTER FOR SMELLING, MY DEARY).
  • Sometimes I bail on plans because I decide I don’t feel like it anymore. Sorry, friends.
  • I’ve struggled with various forms of anxiety my whole life.

Plot twist: I, myself, do not love all of those things by any means, but I’ve accepted them, so now I can work on the love part. And that’s about all I’m willing to put publicly on the internet, but for reals yall… I hope this little blurp of whateverness inspires you to be yourself – the negatives and all! We are all beautiful humans in our perfectness imperfectness, so quit trying to cover it all up because in my opinion, fake people are the ugliest.

Love always,

Megan LouAnn

Leave a Reply

