Whole 30

Whole 30 Update

Hi friends. So you’re all probably thinking, ‘Oh, Megan must have quit her Whole 30 on like Day 6 because she never posted about it after Day 5’, and you would be sort of right. I did quit my Whole 30, but not on Day 5, on Day 13. Yes, 13 days I stuck 100% to the Whole 30 program, and although the first week was hard – really, really hard – I finally hit a bit of a runner’s high, and it really wasn’t all that bad, especially since I felt a million times better. I stopped blogging because I realized that committing to something like the Whole 30 is enough added stress on top of a full time college student schedule and yada yada… So what happened?

It ultimately boiled down to lack of planning. It was Day 13, and I had my first organic chemistry 2 exam that day. I had class in the morning from 9am-2pm and then I had my exam from 3:30-5:30pm.It was a long day, and I didn’t pack much for lunch. Moral of the story, I walked out of my exam at 5:30 brain dead and absolutely starving. It was a Friday, and I knew we didn’t have anything planned yet for dinner. A simple dinner in the crockpot waiting for me when I got home might have saved me, but I didn’t think that far ahead. Instead, I called my mom (who technically quit her Whole 30 on Day 10 or 11) and asked what she wanted on a GF pizza from Dewey’s.

So I ate the pizza, and was it delicious? Duh. Was it worth it? Probably not. However, the mere fact that I disrupted my Whole 30 left me feeling discouraged and although I told myself I would still try and stick to it for the most part, I kept giving myself exceptions and fast forward to Day 21 (hypothetically Day 21 anyhow), and all of my symptoms are back. Grrr.

SO, where do I go from here? I want to feel better and I DID feel better on the Whole 30. I want to lose weight and I DID lose weight on the Whole 30 (7.5 lbs. in 13 days to be exact). I need to plan better, and I need to get my butt back on the program (with no exceptions!) so I can get back to feeling better. I know this works, and I’m rather upset I messed up when I was almost halfway through, but the Whole 30 is no joke. It is hard. But it is worth it. SO back to Day 1 tomorrow. Thank you all for your continued support, and although I will not be committing to daily posts, I will try my best to keep you up to date perhaps weekly? Here’s to hoping round 2 turns out more successful than round 1.

Love always,

Meg

Leave a Reply

