The Start of Something New

Close up of young plant sprouting from groundI really hope after reading that title that you have some serious HSM tunes stuck in your head!!! You’re welcome. 

Pretty much since as long as I can remember, I’ve had a brief wave of excitement before the new school year started, and before you start screaming, “NERDDDDDDDD”, let me finish. I don’t think that this anticipation comes from the love of school itself (although, yes, that may have a litttttle something to do with it). I attribute this specific wave of excitement to something I have titled ‘new beginnings’.

I love cracking open a brand new planner and filling it with important dates, fun activities, and yes, even tests. I love reading through a syllabus and looking forward to completing yet another class that puts me one step closer to my goal of becoming a physician assistant (or doctor — that’s still up in the air, whoops). And so today, as I get everything prepared for my very first nursing assistant class, I’m filled with that same excitement that fills me at the beginning of every semester. It’s time for a new beginning, and this one in particular will really catapult me forward in gaining essential experience for my future.

Working in a nursing home as a receptionist, gift store clerk, and activities aid has definitely given me plenty of experience as far as understanding the ins and outs of a long-term care facility, but I’m looking forward to expanding my knowledge into the more medical, direct-contact side of things. Soon enough, I’ll have the knowledge and credentials to be a nurse aide! How exciting!!

So even if you’re not taking a new class, or moving to a new city, or starting a new job, there are plenty of small things that can be seen as ‘new beginnings’, and I encourage you to have excitement about these as they only help you in your growth as a person and will bring new people and new experiences to your life!

If you have a special ‘new beginning’ in your life, I’d love to hear about it in the comments down below!

Love always,

Megan LouAnn

*Image from mysolutions magazine*

One thought on “The Start of Something New

  1. frankwmcarr says:

    Beautifully written, Megan! Finally, a post that’s not a rant!

    As for me, I am taking my first (and perhaps only) history course in college, Global History I at my local community college, during this first of two summer sessions. It is fascinating, and we talk about really cool things, ranging from the dawn of civilization to the Renaissance/Reformation. In July-August, the second summer session, I take a computer class (which shall be quite basic and alas, tedious, but hey, it’s required). In the fall semester, I take Biology I, Chemistry I (both majors-level), as well as Public Speaking.

    In fact, this fall semester is a “showdown” of sorts between plans for registration for either an associate’s in biology or chemistry, which I plan to transfer to a university to earn a bachelor’s. Of course, just because I formally study one is by no means despising the other, I love to read things on my own time on factual subjects of many kinds. (Again, as you know, I am very generalist in tastes and have a lifelong, if not insatiable, passion for learning).

    I would like to pursue other hobbies and interests as well, but in the final analysis, we must take each day one at a time, and enjoy and be productive in each.

    God bless,

    Frank

Leave a Reply

