faith

A Day of Fasting

With the recent events in Baton Rouge, Falcon Heights, and most recently Dallas, it is an understatement to say our nation is hurting. I was really struggling to find hope in the midst of these horrific events, but I finally was brought some peace from Crossroads pastor, Chuck Mingo. He gave a wonderful message, and I really encourage you to watch the entire service at live.crossroads.net

At the end of the service, Chuck gave us three things to actually take action, one of them being having a day of fasting today and pray – really pray –  for our city and our country. When most people think of fasting, they think of giving up food. This is one form of fasting, but there are many. Chuck gave the example of giving up social media. This is a great idea, but because I recently did a social media hiatus, I wanted to do something different. So what am I fasting from today?

Makeup. I know that to many people, this would be a very silly thing to give up because they don’t ever wear makeup or only wear it on the rare occasion. The truth is, I love makeup. I think it’s a beautiful tool to help empower women, and it can even be a true form of art. Experimenting with new makeup and trends is fun for me! There’s nothing wrong with that. However, I also have to be honest about my need for makeup.

I’ll be the first to say that if I had really good skin, I know I wouldn’t wear makeup hardly as much. There are a lot of days when I don’t wear much makeup, but I always have at least a BB cream on my face to help cover redness and acne scarring that is being very persistent in not going away. I couldn’t tell you the last time I left my house with absolutely zero makeup on. Until today.

Today I am fasting from makeup, and while it has made me a liiiiiiitle uncomfortable, it’s also strangely empowering. I think God is using this day of fasting to not only help me focus on what’s really needed but to help me understand that I am WAY more than my face.

It’s a little ironic that I’m giving up something to do with physical appearance, and sadly, the tragic events of this week deal with just that – someone’s physical appearance.

To deepen this fasting, I have decided to post my completely makeup-less face on the internet. God is working on my heart to accept these flaws as they hopefully work themselves away. God is also working on my heart to really spend the time today to pray for our nation. We need His workings now more than ever, and I’ve learned that when it feels like there’s nothing else to do, we must pray.

So without further ado…

blog

This has been a very interesting day of fasting, but I think it’s taught me a lot. I would like to leave you with a few word from Chuck himself that I ask you think about throughout the day.

“Would our world change, if while they were busy hating us, we were busy loving them?”

Hope you all have a wonderful Monday!

Love always,

Megan LouAnn

One thought on “A Day of Fasting

Leave a Reply

