Finding Unwavering Joy

candles.jpg

Hi friends, it’s been a while, but I’m happy to be making the time to sit down and write again finally. I can’t believe it’s already November! I swear I blinked, and this fall semester just flew by! I guess that’s what happens when you are a senior in college and not only trying to maintain a good GPA but also trying to figure out what the next step is after you walk across the stage at graduation. I have less than six months until I’m a college graduate, and I have no idea how to feel about it. Actually, to be honest, I feel everything about it if you know what I mean. Relief, sadness, anxiety, exhaustion, joy. Everything. But today I want to talk all about one of those feelings – joy – and not just in the context of graduation.

In this day and age, it’s really hard to have joy in all situations. Social media has become a ‘joy-sucking’ funnel in many cases. FOMO, fear of missing out, has become a serious issue for all users of social media. You can watch snapchat story after snapchat story of people hanging out together and having a good time, and sometimes you can’t help but wonder why you’re sitting in your pajamas at 6pm on a Friday night. Aside from FOMO, social media is like a drug that we just can’t get away from. We are constantly checking our phones to see who liked our picture, who said what about the election, how are people reacting to XY and Z. Social media is like a cold that you can’t quite shake. We are a generation who puts so much emphasis into how we portray ourselves via social media and how others perceive us. And let me tell you something, it’s sucking the joy out of our lives.

Now, I like Snapchat just as much as the next person, and I’m guilty of over-thinking about if I should post a picture to Instagram or not for fear no one will ‘like’ it. But when I sit here and say that, I can’t help but think about how silly I sound. Because the truth is that our joy will never come from how many Twitter followers we have or if so and so liked our Instagram picture. That is all 100% fabricated joy, and it’s dependent on our situations and circumstances. What if it were possible to have joy in the midst of no matter what trials we go through in life?

It’s a very hard value and lesson to learn, but it is possible. When we put our hopes and dreams not in the people surrounding us but in our Father’s hands, only then can we have true, complete, unwavering joy. Despite our circumstances, despite what is going on in the world around us, we can have joy through Jesus at all times. This is not a naive way of life, but a Christ-like one. Put your faith in the One who made you, and I think you’ll find that there is immense power in not caring what other people think of you. When you’re able to walk through life only caring to please your God, you will be able to conquer anything.

Unfortunately, this joy isn’t something that can be found over night, and it can be lost much easier than it is found, but I encourage you to seek out that unwavering joy that can only come from the one true King because it will be a journey that takes you much farther than you can imagine.

I hope you all have a blessed week and Thanksgiving, and thank you for reading!

Stay classy,

Megan LouAnn

One thought on “Finding Unwavering Joy

Leave a Reply

