Reflections

1071353-sparkles-wallpaper.jpg

Original image from zrysxw.com

It’s been all over social media: 2016 needs to die! Worst year ever! And hey, maybe it was the worst year ever for some people, but I’m willing to bet it was the best year for others. There’s really nothing magical about the difference between December 31st of one year and January 1st of the next, but I do think it’s important to take a step back and reflect on the past year, how it’s been, what you learned, and what you want to do better next year. There’s nothing wrong in admitting that everyone has something (usually many somethings) that they need to work on, so I’m all for New Year’s resolutions.

Overall, this year was pretty good to me. Although nothing can top my Spain trip from last year, I was still able to make it to Florida and North Carolina on mini vacations this year, making new memories with people I love. I completed my CNA certification, and although I’m not actively working as a CNA (bless those of you that do), I learned a lot in that course and gained a respect for all CNAs out there because it’s one of the toughest jobs one can do. Unfortunately, I also got to see the ugly side of some health care facilities which was hard, but educational.

I started my senior year of college, and although it was my heaviest course load to date, I finished with a decent GPA. I took the GRE in preparation for the possibility of grad school and scored well above what I needed to. I started actually volunteering at church in their Kid’s Club and have been inspired by several little 3rd graders. Those kids are crazy smart, let me tell you. I’ve gone through a few spiritual dry patches, but I’ve learned that it doesn’t mean that God is any further away than normal but that maybe I’m not spending enough time looking towards Him. Our world is a continuum of distractions, and it’s so important to find time to detach from those distractions and just be. I think I got very distracted this year. It’s nearly impossible to be 100% on fire for Jesus 24/7, but I did learn that spending quiet time with Him every day can help.

Looking to 2017, I think the biggest thing ahead for me is graduation. *gulp* Lots of emotions surrounding that one which I’m sure I’ll touch on in a later post, but there is one huge thing I’ve realized. I’m going to have to change my tagline! “a college student trying to find her place in this world” is no longer going to cut it. So I plan to spend now until May 7th thinking of a new tag line and more importantly, a refreshed direction for my blog. I’d really like to see it take off next year, but I’m going to have to dedicate the time into helping it do so. Unfortunately one post every month or two isn’t going to draw in readers, but I think after graduation I’ll have the time I need to make something happen. *fingers crossed* I genuinely hope that each and every one of you reading this had a happy holiday season and will have an even better 2017.

In case you missed it, here is my previous post, Finding Unwavering Joy.

Stay classy,

Megan LouAnn

3 thoughts on “Reflections

Leave a Reply

