faith

You Were Made to Be Courageous

How-Courageous-Are-You.png

The story I am about to share is probably long overdue. Over the past two months, I’ve tried to sit down and write a blog post about it, but I just couldn’t find the right words. Today, I had a random spark of inspiration to try again, and as I logged on to WordPress, I had a notification that today is my blog’s anniversary! Funny how things work out like that. So back to the story at hand…

About two months ago, I felt God calling me to lead what my church calls a “journey group”. Basically as a church, we spend 6 weeks exploring a topic through the weekend message, individualized reflection, and small-group discussions. This year’s journey was called the “I Am” journey, and it was all about digging deeper to learn about who God created us to be. We were pushed to learn about ourselves wholeheartedly —  the good, the bad, the ugly.

Going into the journey, I had just landed an amazing ‘big-girl’ job that would have transitioned to full-time right after I graduated. It was a high-paying job at an amazing family-owned company with a lot of opportunity to travel. After deciding that I no longer wanted to pursue the medical route, it was a dream come true.

However, throughout the six weeks of the journey, I really started to feel unsure about this new venture, and I felt lost. I knew God was trying to tell me something, but I wasn’t quite sure.

During the fifth week’s service, He spoke loud AND clear. Memories and recollections of events in both recent and very distant years started flooding in my mind all at once —  all memories that had tied into my long lost dream of becoming a teacher. I can’t really explain the sensation I felt, but out of nowhere I felt tears rolling down my cheeks because I was invigorated by this message from God but also so, so scared.

I brought it to my small group first, and they all undoubtedly encouraged me to think a lot more about this message, and they believed that it really was from God. So the next step was perhaps the hardest for me. I had to muster up the courage to sit my parents down and tell them I was considering furthering my education to pursue a career in teaching.

Keep in mind this would mean giving up an amazing job opportunity that every parent wants for their child coming right out of college. I was so afraid they would be upset or think I’m crazy, but after dinner one night, I broke down and laid it ALL on the table, and you know what? I am SO blessed to have such supportive parents who took it all in, encouraged me to take my time to think about the situation, but assured me they would back me 100% either way. I felt so free and relieved that I could start putting this new plan from God into action.

The following weeks weren’t easy as I frantically searched for a job more related to the education field, applied to the Master of Teaching program, and made a few difficult phone calls in regards to the ‘big-girl’ job. But I can surely tell you that the uncomfortableness, stress, and confusion was all worth it.

Two months later, I have landed an amazing job working at a Montessori school where I am surrounded by phenomenal coworkers and children who teach me countless new things each and every day. Finding my current workplace was a God send because it has been such a good fit mutually, and it’s the happiest I’ve ever been in a workplace. I can’t explain it, but I can come home from an eleven hour work day absolutely exhausted but energized all at the same time. It’s a beautiful thing that only comes from finding true enjoyment in my job. I let my visions of job and financial security go in pursuit of the plans that my Father had for me.

Time and time again in the last few months God has proven to me that He is pleased I took this leap of faith, and now I really feel like we are walking through life together. Now, let me assure you, everything isn’t all flowers and roses as I have a lot of decision-making to do with exactly what direction I want to pursue with my educational future, but I strongly believe that God has something amazing in store if I continue to rely on and trust in Him.

Friends, I didn’t share this story because I want you to quit your job tomorrow because you aren’t in love with it. I share this story because I want you to be COURAGEOUS like our Father made you. Whatever that looks like for you, if God is calling you towards something, don’t let fear get in the way. I assure you His plans are better than anything you could dream for yourself.

Love always,

Megan LouAnn

2 thoughts on “You Were Made to Be Courageous

  1. Megan,
    You are an amazing young woman with a huge heart and an old soul. I support you 100% in your journey to find what makes you happy. You are smart and your devotion to God is something many admire, especially at your age. You will be a wonderful teacher and an even bigger role model to all the children you touch over your lifetime. I love you and I’m so proud that you have such courage to pursue your dreams no matter the obstacles.
    Aunt Leslie

  2. Being in the center of God’s will is always the best place to be! I am encouraged reading about your journey to where you are now. Nothing is ever wasted in our walk with the Lord. Continue to grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ and you will never be disappointed. I am so happy for you!

Leave a Reply

